where are you from?

As the cliché saying goes, "You can take the girl out of the country, but you can't take the country out of the girl." I was born and raised in Little Rock, Arkansas.

What is your race/ethnicity?

My ancestry is mostly African, and I identify as Black/African American. However, I am also mixed with a percentage of European, Native American and Asian decent.

what are your career goals?

As a woman of color with a Finance background, I find it so important to emphasize financial literacy and group economics within the black community. Career wise, I am interested in the field of venture capital, which is essentially a type of financing that a small business or startup receives from investors. Overall, I want to play a role, financially or legally, in assisting entrepreneurs transform their ideas into products.

Additionally, I am interested in a career in Marketing, specifically data analytics, which is the process of researching and interpreting data in order to make informed business decisions. 

Lastly, I would like to work in the Fashion industry by providing social media/influencer marketing services for brands. In the future, I hope to establish my own profit for purpose retail business.   


What are some of your hobbies?

In my spare time I enjoy writing, reading, exercising, drawing and vibing to music. Some of my interests include fashion, health/fitness, and cooking.

Where do you shop?

I would describe my style as minimalistic, classy and professional with an urban flare. However, to avoid turning minimalism into monotony, I always make sure that I add a fun accessory to my outfit. he brands that I believe embody this aesthetic are Zara, Urban Outfitters, TopShop and BCBG - amazing stores! 

How do you pronounce your name?

For privacy reasons, I will only provide my first name. My name is Kaamilah, which means complete, perfect. It is pronounced as KAH-MEE-LUH.  Brownie points to you if you got it right on the first try ☺.

are you vegan, vegetarian, pescatarian, etc.?

As a black yogi, I am a constant advocate for a healthy mind, body and spirit. Due to my numerous food intolerances/allergies and sensitive skin, my dietary lifestyle is mostly plant-based and dairy free. However, I do not choose to label myself as anything specific because I do not feel that I necessarily fit in any of the above categories. I just choose to eat clean, and so far, that is what works the best for me.